Home / Blog / News / Brian Perry of Perry’s Ice Cream Company, Inc., Receives IDFA Soaring Eagle Award

Brian Perry of Perry’s Ice Cream Company, Inc., Receives IDFA Soaring Eagle Award

(Orlando, Fla. – January 29, 2013) The International Dairy Foods Association presented the 2013 Soaring Eagle Award to Brian Perry, executive vice president/vice chairman of Perry’s Ice Cream Company, Inc., in Akron, N.Y. He received the award yesterday at a special ceremony during IDFA’s 2013 Dairy Forum at the JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes in Orlando, Fla.

The Soaring Eagle award recognizes the extraordinary service of leaders in the dairy industry and those who have provided exemplary leadership to IDFA, the International Ice Cream Association, the Milk Industry Foundation and the National Cheese Institute.

Perry has been an active member of IDFA and IICA for years, holding a variety of leadership positions. He served as IDFA vice chairman from 2011 to 2012 and IDFA secretary from 2010 to 2011. He also served as IICA chairman from 2009 to 2012, IICA vice chairman in 2009 and IICA treasurer from 2005 to 2007.

During Brian’s tenure as an officer, IDFA was successfully engaged in efforts affecting the dairy portion of the Farm Bill and national nutrition issues.

“Brian certainly knows the industry well. He knows the players, knows the important issues in the industry,” said Jon Davis, president and CEO of Davisco Foods International, Inc., and IDFA vice chairman. “He brings an enthusiasm and an energy to the exchange of ideas among everybody at the board level.”

While serving the industry organizations, Perry continued to focus on the growth of his company and the ice cream industry overall.

“Perry’s under Brian’s leadership has been terrific on innovation,” said Connie Tipton, IDFA president and CEO. “For the last several years, they have won, year after year, the top ice cream flavors at our Ice Cream Technology Conference.”

Commending Perry on his leadership, Tipton said, “Brian, thanks for all you’ve done for this industry and congratulations on this well-deserved honor.”

A video honoring Perry is available on IDFA’s YouTube channel at http://www.youtube.com/user/dairyIDFA/.

Previous recipients of the IDFA Soaring Eagle Award include Gary Vanic, Dave Fuhrmann, Brian Haugh, Mike Reidy, Jim Green, Miriam Erickson Brown, Paul Kruse, Robert Allen, Tom Angott, Tom Badciong, Rick Beaman, C.O. “Tex” Beshears, George Cornell, Howard M. Dean, Jim Erickson, Miles Ezell, Lou Gentine, Betsy Holden, Larry Jensen, John Jeter, John Kinnett, Jr., Ed Kruse, Bill Oldenburg, Delton Parks, Arthur Pappathanasi, Tom Perry, Ronald Rice, David Rufenacht, Don Storhoff, Fay Wells and Gary Wells.

# # #

The International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA), Washington, D.C., represents the nation’s dairy manufacturing and marketing industries and their suppliers, with a membership of 550 companies representing a $110-billion a year industry. IDFA is composed of three constituent organizations: the Milk Industry Foundation (MIF), the National Cheese Institute (NCI) and the International Ice Cream Association (IICA). IDFA’s 220 dairy processing members run more than 600 plant operations, and range from large multi-national organizations to single-plant companies. Together they represent more than 85 percent of the milk, cultured products, cheese and frozen desserts produced and marketed in the United States. IDFA can be found online at www.idfa.org